Shofar Around the World Resources

Rosh Hashanah 5782 Resources

What is Rosh Hashanah?

Leviticus 23:24–25
24 Speak unto the children of Israel, saying, In the seventh month, in the first day of the month, shall ye have a sabbath, a memorial of blowing of trumpets, an holy convocation. Ye shall do no servile work therein: but ye shall offer an offering made by fire unto the Lord.

Rosh Hashanah is scripturally known as Yom Teruah which means “Day of Blowing” and is commonly known as the Jewish New Year. This is the only feast day when the shofar is blown during the service one hundred times.

The shofars are blown in a set pattern of three different sounds, blown three times each for a total of nine blasts. This series of patterns is repeated eleven times for a total of ninety-nine blasts. The one hundredth blast is set apart and is known as the “Last Trump”.

Rosh Hashanah occurs on the first and second days of the month of Tishrei. Rosh Hashanah lasts for two days, but it is referred to as one long day. It is customary to eat apples dipped in honey to symbolize a wish for a good and sweet year. It is also common to eat round challah to symbolize a crown that reflects our coronating God as the King of the world.


September 6th 2021 - 5782

32 Countries, 37 States, 123 Cities and 376 People Signed Up:

Andorra: Andorra La Vella
Australia: Queensland, South Australia and Victoria
Belize: Corozal
British Indian Ocean Territory: Rajkot
British Virgin Islands: Dakota
Canada: Alberta, Calgary, Ontario, New Brunswick
Dominican Republic: Santo Domingo
Ecuador: Sumalo
El Salvador
Estonia: Coimbotore, Praha
Ethiopia, Azum
France, Arlington, Le Mans
Germany, Bielefeld
Guinea: Campinas
Holy See
India, Bengaluru
Japan: Tamana
New Zealand
Norfolk Island
Papua New Guinea
Peru: Arequipa
Russia: Moscow & Urupinsk
Sao Tome and Principe, Spring City
South Africa, Capetown, Pretoria, Rouxville & Kuilsriver
Sweden: Boden, Halstad
Switzerland, Tschugg
United Kingdom: Shepperton
United States:
Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii,
Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Montana,
Nebraska, Nevada, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon,
Pennsylvania, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Vermont, Washington, Wisconsin and Wyoming